Our Governing Body Members and Committees

Copies of the minutes of each meeting and the Headteachers’s report are also available in the school.

Parent Governors are nominated by the parents of pupils in the school. The Governing Body of The Arches Community Primary School is comprised of people who have very different backgrounds and experiences.


Governors and their Roles


Type of Governor 


Declaration of Interest

Term of Office

Mrs Michelle Ashfield Headteacher All Committees except Staff Dismissal, Pupil Discipline, Complaints & Appeals Silent Director of Husband's Ltd Company Ex-Officio
Mrs Carol Jones


Chair of Governors

Finance & Personnel, Enhanced Provision,  Teaching & Learning. Nothing to Declare 15/03/2017 - 14/03/2021
Mrs Rebecca Challinor Deputy Headteacher (Associate Member)

Teaching & Learning, Finance & Personnel, Enhanced Provision.

All only in absence of Headteacher 

Nothing to Declare  
Mr Alan Tushingham


Vice Chair

Finance & Personnel Nothing to Declare

11/12/2017 -


Mrs Sally-Ann Johnson

Co - Opted 

Enhanced Provision, Finance & Personnel Nothing to Declare

10/12/2018 - 09/12/2022

Mrs Kerry Bowie Co-opted  Enhanced Provision Nothing to Declare 15/03/2017 - 14/03/2021
Mrs Esther Lightfoot School Business Manager (Assoc. Member) Finance & Personnel. Nothing to Declare  
Mrs Ceri Moffatt  Staff Teaching & Learning

Family member works at Bishop Blue Coat High School

Family member works at Blacon High School

16/03/2015 - 15/03/2023
June Middleton


Enhanced Provision,  Nothing to Declare 30/03/2016 - 31/03/2024
Philip Horton Parent Health & Safety. Declared - Friends with a member of staff 28/01/2019 - 27/01/2023
Samantha Keay Co-opted Teaching & Learning, Finance & Personnel. Declared - Friend with a member of staff  16/12/2019 - 15/12/2023
Sheila Little  Co-opted

Teaching & Learning , Enhanced Provision, Health & Safety.

Nothing to Declare

23/03/2018 - 22/03/2022

Jacqui Critchley Clerk Minutes Nothing to Declare  


Committee name Frequency of meeting

Examples of policy commitment…


See Policy Schedule

Health and Safety Termly

Health and Safety


Risk assessments

Chris Sadler

Michelle Ashfield

Philip Horton

Sheila Little

Teaching and Learning Half termly





Michelle Ashfield

Carol Jones

Samantha Keay

Sheila Little 

Ceri Moffatt

Rebecca Challinor - Associate Member

Enhanced Provision Half termly



Domestic abuse

Self Harm


Sue Wilkins - Associate member

Nicky Johnson -Associate member

Carol Jones

Rebecca Challinor - Associate member 

Sally-Ann Johnson

June Middleton

Kerry Bowie

Sheila Little 

Finance & Personnel  Half termly Best Value

Esther Lightfoot

Carol Jones

Michelle Ashfield

Sam Keay

Sally-Ann Johnson

Alan Tushingham

Rebecca Challinor - Associate Member

1 Co-opted Vacancy available. 

Attendance of previous meetings are available to download below.